header background image
Current Weather 66° F
  • Contact Information

    Motor Vehicle

    countyclerk@jeffco.us
    303-271-8100

    Monday-Friday
    7:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

    Contact Us

    100 Jefferson County Pkwy.
    Ste. 2540
    Admin and Courts Facility
    Golden, CO 80419-2540

    Motor Vehicle Switchboard

    Serves all Motor Vehicle offices
    303-271-8100

    Golden

    100 Jefferson County Pkwy., Ste. 2540 Golden, CO 80419
    Fax: 303-271-8177

    Arvada

    6510 Wadsworth Blvd., #320 Arvada, CO 80003
    Fax: 303-421-8181

    Evergreen

    4990 County Hwy. 73 Evergreen, CO 80439
    Fax: 303-674-6399

    Lakewood

    2099 Wadsworth Blvd., #K Lakewood, CO 80214
    Fax: 303-202-1724

    Littleton

    11139 Bradford Rd. 80127 Littleton, CO 80127
    Fax: 720-497-7310

    Connect
  • Motor Vehicle Late Fees

     

    For Motor Vehicles

    Per Senate Bill 09-108, a mandatory $25 late fee, up to $100, will be assessed to vehicles registered more than 60 days after the purchase date; or to vehicles renewed after the one-month grace period. Ownership tax starts to accrue from the month of purchase. The tax is also due for any time period the vehicle is unregistered, such as a renewal after the one-month grace period. It will show on your registration receipt as “Prior OT.”

     

    For Trailers

    Colorado Law (House Bill 10-1211) requires a $10 late fee be assessed to vehicles without motive power* weighing 2,000 pounds or less, which are subject to taxation and not registered when required by law. The weight of a trailer of any kind is the empty weight. Colorado Revised Statutes 42-3-112(1.7)
     
    Senate Bill 10-198 sets a $10 late fee for vehicles without motive power* weighing 16,000 pounds or less - camper trailers or multipurpose trailers, regardless of weight – that are subject to taxation and not registered when required by law. Specifications for the majority of trailer coaches meet the weight requirement and, therefore, SB10-198 will apply to trailer coaches. The weight of a trailer of any kind is the empty weight. C.R.S. 42-3-112(1.7)

      *Vehicles without motive power include trailers, camper trailers, trailer coaches, multipurpose trailers and special mobile machinery without motive power.

     Late fees accrued before July 1, 2010, will be included in the late fee assessed on or after July 1, 2010; however, the total amount assessed shall not exceed the $100 late-fee limit, for example:

    • Transaction date is July 15, 2010. Customer’s registration for a 14,000-pound trailer expired January 2010 with a one-month grace of February 2010. The late fee due is $100.
      • Calculation: $25 * four months = $100 + $10 = $110, but late fee is still limited to $100.
       
    • Transaction date is July 15, 2010. Customer’s registration for a camper trailer expired February 2010 with a one-month grace of March 2010. The late fee due is $85.
      • Calculation: $25 * three months = $75 + $10 = $85 late fee assessed.  
          

    Ownership tax starts to accrue from the month of purchase. The tax is also due for any time period the vehicle is unregistered, such as a renewal after the one-month grace period. It will show on your registration receipt as “Prior OT.”