header background image
Current Weather 64° F
  • Contact Information

    Motor Vehicle

    countyclerk@jeffco.us
    303-271-8100

    Monday-Friday
    7:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

    Contact Us

    100 Jefferson County Pkwy.
    Ste. 2540
    Admin and Courts Facility
    Golden, CO 80419-2540

    Motor Vehicle Switchboard

    Serves all Motor Vehicle offices
    303-271-8100

    Golden

    100 Jefferson County Pkwy., Ste. 2540 Golden, CO 80419
    Fax: 303-271-8177

    Arvada

    6510 Wadsworth Blvd., #320 Arvada, CO 80003
    Fax: 303-421-8181

    Evergreen

    4990 County Hwy. 73 Evergreen, CO 80439
    Fax: 303-674-6399

    Lakewood

    2099 Wadsworth Blvd., #K Lakewood, CO 80214
    Fax: 303-202-1724

    Littleton

    11139 Bradford Rd. 80127 Littleton, CO 80127
    Fax: 720-497-7310

    Connect
  • New Registrations with the Office of Motor Vehicles

     

    Secure and Verifiable Identification is required for all titles, new registrations and temporary permits; anyone other than the titled owner must have Power of Attorney (DR 2175). View exit disclaimer policy page for links to third-party websites.


    Licensing a Vehicle Purchased with Cash

    If you recently purchased a vehicle with cash from a private party or dealer, licensing requires you to submit all original title documents and a valid Air Care Colorado View exit disclaimer policy page for links to third-party websites. emission test or exemption (see Emissions). If you wish to transfer license plates, please bring the plates and registration from your previous vehicle.

    The dealership must supply you with proper titling documents within 45 days, either by mail or customer pick up. The private party should give you proper title, odometer reading and emission test results at the time of sale.

    Important Note: Proof of Insurance is required for registration - trailers exempt.


    Licensing a Financed or Leased Vehicle

    Jefferson County will mail a postcard when the title papers have been accepted and completed. When you receive this postcard, please visit any of the offices to register your vehicle. If you wish to transfer license plates, please bring the plates and registration from your previous vehicle.
    If you have not received a postcard, and your temporary permit is about to expire, please bring your finance agreement and proof of insurance to one of the offices to apply for an extension.

    The cost for a temporary permit is $6.22.

    Important Note: Proof of Insurance is required for registration - trailers exempt.


    Licensing an Out-of-State Vehicle

    To register an out-of-state vehicle, bring the following to a Motor Vehicle Office:

    • Out-of-state title* or current out-of-state registration.
      If your lienholder has the title and your out-of-state registration is more than six months expired, a photocopy of title showing an existing lien will be accepted.
    •  Colorado emission test. See Emissions to determine whether a test is required for your vehicle.
    • Form DR 2698 View exit disclaimer policy page for links to third-party websites. - Verification of Vehicle ID number (VIN) section only.
      The verification can be completed by a Colorado law enforcement officer, at a licensed emission testing station or licensed automobile dealer. Per county rules, VIN verifications won't be done at any Jefferson County Motor Vehicle Offices.
    • If your vehicle is a truck with a curb weight (empty weight) of 4,500 lbs or more, you will need to get a certified weight slip if the weight does not show on the title or registration.


    Important Note:
    Proof of Insurance is required for registration - trailers exempt.

    *If you are from a state that does not title, or if your title document is from another country, please call Jefferson County Motor Vehicle at 303-271-8100 Monday through Friday, between 7:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. and speak to a representative.

    Last Updated: 8-25-2014