header background image
Current Weather 36° F
  • Jefferson County Parks Banner
  • Parks

    2013 Outstanding Volunteers Recognized

    More than 150 volunteers were special guests at the annual Jeffco Open Space Volunteer Recognition Event on Oct. 12, including the recipients of four major awards.

    Teresa Topping was honored as the John Litz Award recipient, formerly known as the Volunteer of the Year Award. Topping has served Jefferson County Open Space as a Park Patroller for eight years, and three years ago joined Lookout Mountain Nature Center’s team of Volunteer Naturalists. Every goal she’s met has been done with determination and passion for Jefferson County Open Space. She is an example of what all volunteers—even those with full-time jobs—can accomplish with personal initiative, creativity and passion.

    The award was renamed this year to honor John Litz, who served on the Open Space Advisory Committee for 20 years. He is one of the original members of Plan Jeffco and was instrumental in the creation of the Open Space program in 1972. His volunteer service spans more than half a century, and he’s currently regarded as the unofficial Open Space Historian.

    The Special Achievement Award acknowledged the 22 members of the Flood Response Team for their exemplary efforts communicating with the public about park closures. Bob Kurtz received the Sue Poe Inspirational Volunteer Award for his seven years of service leading more than 30 percent of the education programs at Lookout Mountain Nature Center.

    The final honor, Excellence as a New Volunteer, went to Mike Vissman. He jumped right in to three separate programs—FrogWatch, Project Budburst and NestWatch—and excelled in all of them.

    Jeffco Open Space thanks all of its volunteers. Attendees to the Oct. 12 event were thanked with a hearty breakfast, a keynote speaker and a jovial atmosphere. To learn more about volunteer opportunities, please see our Volunteer page.

    View photos from the event External Link Icon in an album on our Facebook page.

    Thea Rock
    Communications Manager

    Last Updated: 10-18-2013