header background image
Current Weather 45° F
  • Contact Information

    Historical Commission


    Monday - Friday
    8 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

    Contact Us

    100 Jefferson County Parkway
    Suite 3550
    Admin and Courts Facility
    Golden, CO 80419

  • Historical Commission

    Jefferson County Historical Commission 
    The Historical Commission is a volunteer group that promotes the preservation and use of historical resources and historic sites through educational activities, publications and research projects. The mission of the Jefferson County Historical Commission is to inspire, encourage and coordinate historical activities in the county.  

    12th Annual Jefferson County Historic Preservation Symposium

    to be held on May 2, 2015 at the Boettcher Mansion inside the Lookout Mountain Nature Preserve in Golden. Details here.

    By the Numbers Historic Preservation Symposium

    Historical Commission Programs

    Historical Commission Publications

    The Jefferson County Historical Commission was established by a Resolution of the Board of County Commissioners on July 22, 1974. Initially, the primary purpose was to guide the observances of the Centennial - Bicentennial year of 1976. The Commission provided plaques for 25 sites of historical interest in the county and originated the "Festival of the West." All Jefferson County districts are represented equally on the Historical Commission.

    Meeting Schedule

    Regular Meeting Minutes

    The Jefferson County Historical Commission generally meets on the first Monday of the month at 2PM in room 1566/1567, Administration and Courts Facility located at 100 Jefferson County Parkway, Golden. Please refer to the agenda for updates on the meeting location and time.Contact jeffersoncountyhistoricalcommission@jeffco.us with questions.


    District 1
    Margaret T. Chapman – Year Appointed: 2007
    Richard Gardner – Year Appointed: 2005

    District 2
    Nina Kite – Year Appointed: 2004
    Deborah Andrews – Year Appointed: 2000 

    District 3
    Rita Peterson – Year Appointed: 1981
    Sally White – Year Appointed: 2004

    At Large 
    Louis Fohn – Year Appointed: 2014 
    Cynthia Shaw – Year Appointed: 2010
    Mary Lindsey – Year Appointed: 2010 
    Chuck Hause  – Year Appointed: 2014
    Max Lankston  – Year Appointed: 2014

    Applications for new members are always welcomed and will be kept on file by the County Manager's Office to fill vacancies.