Office Hours: Monday-Friday7:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
Monday- Friday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Marriage licenses can be purchased for $30 (check or cash only) and may be used immediately within the state of Colorado. Marriage licenses can be obtained for same-sex couples in Colorado. The license, available at any of the county offices listed below, is valid for 35 days from the issue date. Marriage Licenses are recorded at the main office only. If you need to immediately record your marriage license and/or purchase certified copies, please visit the main office.
Where and when can a marriage license be obtained in Jefferson County?Main Office:
Hours: Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Jefferson County Administrative and Court Complex 100 Jefferson County Parkway Second Floor, Suite 2560 Golden, CO 80419
Motor Vehicle Branch Offices:Hours: Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Arvada Motor Vehicle6510 Wadsworth Blvd.Suite 320Arvada, CO 80003
Evergreen Motor Vehicle4990 County Hwy 73Evergreen, CO 80439(Next to the Library)
Lakewood Motor Vehicle2099 Wadsworth BlvdLakewood, CO 80215
South Jeffco Motor Vehicle11139 Bradford Road, #100Littleton, CO 80127
Marriage License locations are not open on county holidays. Please see the county closures for 2014..
Legal age is 18 for both persons. If age 16 or 17, written and notarized consent signed by both parents, parent having legal custody, or legal guardian is required. A Judicial Court Order from the court of jurisdiction is required of anyone under the age of 16.
Access the Parental Consent Form in the documents section at the bottom of this page.
Legal identification for proof of age is required.
Per Colorado Revised Statute 14-14-113, Social Security numbers are required on the marriage license application. If an applicant does not have a Social Security number, an affidavit provided by the clerk’s office must be signed.
Access the Social Security Number Affidavit in the documents section at the bottom of this page.
Both persons should be present to apply. If this is not possible, one party must appear with a completed and notarized absentee affidavit as well as approved original identification for the absent party. Applicants for a marriage license need not be Colorado residents.
Access the Absentee Affidavit in the documents section at the bottom of this page.
Ceremony can be performed by judges, retired judges, magistrates, Indian tribe officials and clergy, or by the couple themselves. Completed marriage certificate must be returned to our office within 63 days after the marriage.
Pursuant to CRS 24-72-204(3)(a)(XIX)(A), copies of marriage applications are to be made available only to the bride or groom or an immediate family member. To obtain a certified copy of a marriage application, please complete the form and have notarized. Fee is $2.25 per copy.
Access the Marriage Application Copy Request in the documents section at the bottom of this page.
Copies of marriage licenses are $0.25, or $1.25 for a certified copy. A postage paid, self-addressed envelope is required with the order.
Access the Marriage License Copy Request in the documents section at the bottom of this page.
Administration & Courts Facility 100 Jefferson County Parkway Golden, Colorado 80419 (303) 279-6511
© 2013-2014 Jefferson County, CO.