Monday-Friday8:00 a.m. -5:30 p.m.
Hearing Impaired/ TTY 303-271-5517
Distracted driving is a dangerous epidemic on roadways. In 2012 alone, 3,328 were killed in distracted driving crashes. It takes 4.6 seconds to drive the length of a football field at 55 miles per hour. It’s also how long a driver’s eyes are off the road when sending or receiving a text. Distracted driving is defined as any activity that could divert a person's attention away from the primary task of driving. All distractions endanger driver, passenger, and bystander safety. Common distractions include:
Because text messaging requires visual, manual, and cognitive attention from the driver, it is by far the most alarming distraction. In Colorado texting while driving can result in a ticket without any other traffic violation taking place. Your first cell-phone citation will result in a $50 fine, and $100 for each subsequent cell-phone violation.
We're glad you asked! At any given moment during daylight hours, over 800,000 vehicles are being driven by someone using a hand-held cell phone. You've already taken the first step by learning about the dangers of distracted driving. The next step is to take a pledge to drive phone-free and turn your cell phone off when you turn your ignition on. If you're a passenger, make sure your driver does the same. You can help save lives.
Don’t put yourself in harm’s way or violate any laws to report a distracted driver. If you are under 18 years old, or driving with a learner’s permit it is illegal for you to use a cell phone while driving. If possible, pull to a safe location to report a distracted driver or have a passenger make the report. Try to provide a license plate number and description of the vehicle. To report other traffic related concerns please call our KOPS hotline at 303-271-KOPS (5677).
100 Jefferson County Parkway Golden, Colorado 80419 (303) 279-6511
© 2013-2017 Jefferson County, CO.